12:25am. It’s officially August 5. Today is a very special day. Today is my love’s birthday!

I was thinking of what to give, what to prepare and how to surprise him for his birthday. I’ve searched google for ideas what would make someone happy on his birthday. I thought of balloons, cupcakes, confetti’s, and anything fancy to make it extra special for him. That was a month ago.

This morning, I woke up late, arrived work late, went home late. 🙂 For the past few weeks, I have been crazy trying to finish and beat dealines for reports and all. I was not able to prepare anything for Jay’s bday.

On my way home, I asked the Lord for an inspiration. It was too late to prepare balloons, buy cake, prepare dinner, arrange for a surprise bday. But then God spoke to me. It’s never about material things. Love is immeasurable.

I stopped at a bookstore and bought a card. A birthday card.

I made sure I’d still be wide awake when midnight strikes. Jay wasn’t still sleeping also.
Jay: Dine, 2 mins nalang.
Adine: Yes, 2 mins nalang. (And I started singing happy birthday).

12:00 midnight.

I was not able to prepare anything fancy, but I was able to express what is inside my heart more plainly. I had more time telling him how blessed I am to have him, how happy and proud I am for what he has become and how grateful I am to God for his life.

I handed my card. And I started praying for him. And I prayed with the sincerest prayer I could ever utter.

Tears fell. Tears of joy. Tears of gratitude.

Life isn’t about gifts, birthdays are not about parties and cakes. Life is a celebration.

I may not have prepared anything to surprise him for his birthday but I know in my heart that he knows how much I love him.

It’s never too late though. I still have the rest of the day to make it special for him. 🙂

Happy birthday, my love. know that you are so much loved. 🙂

And I love you beyond gifts and presents. 🙂

