Tags

, ,

Yesterday was Palm Sunday –  a day that celebrates Jesus entry to Jerusalem where the crowd greeted and cheered for him with palm branches. It is very interesting to note that the same people who cheered for him, were the same people who shouted to have him crucified and chose Barabbas (who was imprisoned because of murder) to be released for them. Oh the irony! But I don’t think that surprised God. He knew what was going to happen and he had things worked out just as He planned.

But If I were Jesus, I would have been really hurt (and probably wallowed in self-pity), and I’d have to think twice if these people, actually deserve the kind of love, mercy and sacrifice. But he didn’t. He went through it willingly with love and passion. And Jesus, even when he was hurt, betrayed, denied and abandoned by his friends, chose (and still chooses) to see us in His grace and did not (will never) give up on us. What an amazing savior!

I can’t imagine what would have happened if Jesus didn’t die on the cross to save us from our sins. He paid the price you and I can never ever pay. And this kind of relentless love always, always bring me down to my knees.

When Simon Peter realized what had happened, he fell to his knees before Jesus and said, “Oh, Lord, please leave me–I’m too much of a sinner to be around you.” Luke 5:8

Have a blessed holy week!

 

