Tags

Grateful. Joyful.

I’ve been writing prayers, rants and all things in between in my journal for the last couple of days. You know how just writing everything in your head makes you feel so good? It is liberating. It clears your mind, it unburdens your heart. And then you start seeing things a little bit more clearly, and realize lots of things.

Which I did.

Well, I realized I have not been very grateful lately. And you know what proceeds ungratefulness? Losing joy. And when joy escapes you, everything just suddenly turns melancholic. You feel heavyhearted. And when you’re down, you start seeing every flaw in every single thing. You see all the negative aspects and you start expecting negative results. Somehow, you feel like being miserable is a comfort. What an awful state to be in!

So today, I will make a conscious effort to appreciate more and complain less. I will try to remain optimistic, to entertain positive thoughts, and speak only what is good and uplifting. I will try to see the good in everything, to see people beyond what the eyes can see. I’ll try to be more compassionate to those who are unkind, to love them even when it hurts. I will try to be more thankful for every single person, for every single thing – both good and bad.

Today, I will choose to be joyful – not the kind of joy that is dependent on a situation – but the kind of joy that endures during trying times. The kind of joy that never wavers.

Today, I resolve to be grateful whatever the circumstance. I will praise, I will worship, in every season of my life.

Always be joyful. Never stop praying. Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus. – 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

